11/9/2016

I am writing this at 7am on 11/9/2016, and I have been up for the past 24 hours. I could not sleep tonight because earlier today Donald J Trump won the general election to be the 45th President of the United States of America.

I am disheartened. I am fearful for the groups of people that his campaign has repeatedly threatened since the inception of his campaign. Like many others, I keep on hoping that I suddenly wake up from this nightmare, but I know that won’t happen.

But besides the fear and sadness I am furious. I want to tear down the people who did this to my home. I want to punish the people who are frightening my friends and millions of other human beings. I want them to finally have a reason to cling to the crumbling remains of ideologies and prejudices that they felt have been taken away from them over the past decades despite every statistic telling them life has never been better.

But I know that physically, mentally, and emotionally, violence is not the answer. Believe me, I have read enough comics and seen enough movies to know with every fiber of my being that you do not rise above by sinking lower.

I just want to help.

Honestly, I don’t know how.

I mean, I know in the abstract. Donate my time and money to people in need. Join protests and raise my voice with the righteous. Write to my representatives. Challenge the status quo and speak truth to power.

If there’s a march on Washington, believe me I will crawl my way there if I have to.

But honestly, what can I do to help?

That’s not rhetorical or sarcastic. I sincerely want to help, but I also do not know specifically how. Please tell me. If you know somewhere I can donate my time to help struggling people, if there’s anything I could write, please let me know. I’ll be keeping my eyes and ears open for any opportunity to do something good.

If there is anything within my power I can do to put a dent into the mountain this election threw onto the path of progress, I want to do it. I don’t want the next four years of my country defined by President Trump if instead we can define it by the people who decided they would not put up with him or stoop to his level.

And I hope you’ll join me.

